Super Rugby


St.George Queensland Reds announce squad for Chiefs pre-season match

The St.George Queensland Reds will be bolstered by the inclusion of four Wallabies tourists from last year’s Spring Tour squad for Friday’s pre-season match against the Chiefs at Ballymore, kick-off at 7:00pm AEST.
Samu Kerevi, Taniela Tupou, Sefa Naivalu and Jordan Petaia have all been named in the 27-man squad for the Reds second and final pre-season fixture of 2019.
After returning from Japan, Alex Mafi will also make his first appearance for Queensland this year, while 22 players will back up after last week’s pre-season match against the Rebels.
Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “This is a great opportunity for us. We had the Rebels down in Ballarat last week for a hit-out and this will be a tough engagement against a good New Zealand side.
“I think the boys will be looking forward to this and it’ll be the Chiefs last hit-out before they play the following week, so they’ll be coming with real intent. It’s also our last hit-out so I’m looking for the guys to step up from last week,” Thorn said.
The Reds kick off their 2019 Super Rugby season in Dunedin against the Highlanders on February 22, before hosting 2018 champions the Crusaders at Suncorp Stadium in their first home game on Saturday March 2.
Tickets for Friday’s pre-season match between the Reds and Chiefs are still available and can be secured through Oztix here
Ticketing Information and Prices 
Adults: $20
Concession: $15
Juniors: $10

St.George Queensland Reds v Chiefs 
Friday February 8 – Ballymore Stadium at 7:00pm AEST (Gates open at 6:00pm)

Feao Fotuaika – Souths
Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank
Taniela Tupou – Brothers
Harry Hockings – University of Queensland
Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths
Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
Liam Wright – Easts
Scott Higginbotham – Wests
Moses Sorovi – Wests
Hamish Stewart – Bond University
Jordan Petaia – Wests
Samu Kerevi – Souths
Chris Feauai-Sautia – Souths
Sefa Naivalu – TBC
Bryce Hegarty – GPS
Alex Mafi – Bond University
Harry Hoopert – Brothers
Ruan Smith – GPS
Angus Blyth – Bond University
Caleb Timu – Souths
Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
Duncan Paia’aua – Norths
Isaac Lucas – Sunnybank
Adam Korczyk – University of Queensland
Teti Tela – Souths
Jack Hardy – Easts
Filipo Daugunu – Wests

Rugby Traveller