Super Rugby


Junior Wallabies Squad for World Rugby U20s Championship named

Twelve Queenslanders have been named in the Junior Wallabies squad for Australia’s campaign at the World Rugby U20s Championship in France later this month. 

Australia takes on Wales, Japan and New Zealand in Pool A kicking off on Wednesday May 30 as the Junior Wallabies side looks to secure a position in the top four Semi Finals. 

Isaac Lucas continues the Rugby pedigree of his family having been named in the squad as one of Australia’s backs alongside Tate McDermott and Ryan Lonergan who will tour as scrumhalves. Lucas’ older brothers include Matt Lucas (Brumbies), Ben Lucas (St.George Queensland Reds) and Tom Lucas (Australian Sevens).  

Rugby Australia and the St.George Queensland Reds have agreed that Hamish Stewart will not be considered for a return to the Junior Wallabies selection in 2018 due to his current involvement with Queensland’s Vodafone Super Rugby campaign. 

Australia kicks off its campaign at Stade de la Mediterranee, Béziers, against Wales on Thursday 31 May. 

Junior Wallabies Head Coach Jason Gilmore said: “We took a lot of learnings out of the match against New Zealand and we will be implementing those improvements in our next camp ahead of our departure.  

“We have a tough Pool with Wales, Japan and New Zealand who all offer three different styles of Rugby and we will need to be ready for the three challenges.

“The hard work steps up now for this squad after Oceania and the players and staff are looking forward to getting back into camp.” 

The Junior Wallabies will reconvene for a camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra on Thursday 17 May. 

2018 Junior Wallabies Squad, World Rugby U20s Championship

Angus Blyth, Bond University 
Matt Faessler, Brothers  
George Francis, Eastwood 
Esei Ha'angana, Melbourne Unicorns 
Harry Hockings, University of Queensland
Josh Kemeny, Sydney University
Harry Hoopert, Brothers
Trevor Hosea, Harlequins
Efi Ma’afu, Wests 
Sama Malolo, Endeavour Hills
Fraser McReight, Brothers
Josh Nasser, University of Queensland 
Tom Ross, Gungahlin 
Rory Suttor, Sydney University 
Patrick Tafa, Norths (Sydney), 
Rob Valentini, Wests 

Lawson Creighton, Brothers
Mack Hansen, Gungahlin   
Tony Hunt, Norths 
Len Ikitau, Vikings 
Bayley Kuenzle, Southern Districts 
Isiah Latu, Queanbeyan
Ryan Lonergan, Vikings
Isaac Lucas, Sunnybank 
Tate McDermott, University of Queensland 
Matt McTaggert, Easts 
Jordan Petaia, Wests
Semisi Tupou, Box Hill 

2018 World Rugby U20s Championship Pool A Fixtures*: 
Thursday 31 May
Australia v Wales, 5.00am AEST, Stade de la Mediterranee, Bézier

Sunday 3 June
Australia v Japan, 10.00pm AEST, Stade de la Mediterranee, Bézier 

Friday 8 June 
Australia v New Zealand, 5.00am AEST, Stade Aime-Giral, Perpignan
*Dates and times have been named as AEST

2019 Memberships