Super Rugby


Queensland dominate Junior Wallabies selections for Oceania Rugby U20 Championships

Fourteen Queenslanders have been named in the Junior Wallabies Squad for the Oceania Rugby U20s Championship has been named for the clashes against Tonga, Fiji and New Zealand U20s later this month on the Gold Coast. 
Recent 2018 St.George Queensland Reds debutants Harry Hockings, Tate McDermott and Jordan Petaia will be joined in the squad by fellow Reds squad members Angus Blyth and Harry Hoopert, as well as members of the Reds Academy squad. 

The Australian squad will descend on Bond University for the tournament’s fourth year, where the young men in gold will be striving to win the championship for the first time. 
Queensland flyhalf Isaac Lucas, continues the strong Rugby pedigree of his family, with his three older brothers, Ben Lucas (Queensland Reds), Matt Lucas (Brumbies) and Tom Lucas (Australian Sevens) all plying their trade within Australian Rugby. 
Junior Wallabies Head Coach, Jason Gilmore said: “The playing group is really looking forward to kicking off the International season.    
“The Oceania Rugby U20s Championship presents us with the opportunity to continue the progress we have made with quality opposition and each side presents their own different challenge.
“It’s the first step for us in a big year with the World Rugby U20s Championship in May and June just around the corner and the players are keen to get underway.”   
The Junior Wallabies side will come together for its fourth camp in six months, when they assemble on April 22 at Bond University, Gold Coast.
Queensland Reds flyhalf, Hamish Stewart (Reds duties) and Brumbies forward, Rob Valentini (injury) were not considered for selection for the Championship. 
2018 Oceania Rugby U20s Championship Fixtures

Friday 27 April

New Zealand v Tonga, 5.00pm AEST 
Australia v Fiji, 7.00pm AEST 

Tuesday May 1 
New Zealand v Fiji, 3.00pm AEST 
Australia v Tonga, 5.00pm AEST

Saturday 5 May 
Fiji v Tonga, 5.00pm AEST
Australia v New Zealand, 7.00pm AEST 
All matches will be played at Bond University on the Gold Coast.  

Charlie Hancock, NSW, prop
Tom Ross, ACT, prop
Justin Sikimeti , ACT, backrow
Patrick Tafa, NSW, backrow
George Francis, NSW, prop
Josh Kemeny, NSW, backrow
Hugh Margin, NSW, lock
Harry Hockings, QLD, lock, University of Queensland, Bowen
Angus Blyth, QLD, lock, Bond University, Gold Coast
Matt Faessler, QLD, hooker, Brothers, Toowoomba
Harry Hoopert, QLD, prop, Brothers, Jondaryn 
Tom Kibble, QLD, backrow, GPS
Efi Ma'afu, QLD, hooker, Wests
Josh Nasser, QLD, prop, University of Queensland 
Fraser McReight, QLD, backrow, Brothers, Sunshine Coast

Sama Malolo, VIC, hooker
Esei Ha'angana, VIC, backrow
Trevor Hosea, VIC, lock

Mack Hansen, ACT, fullback
Len Ikitau, ACT, centre
Ryan Lonergan, ACT, scrumhalf
Isiah Latu, ACT, centre
Bayley Kuenzle, NSW, flyhalf
James Ramm, NSW, wing
Lawson Creighton, QLD, fullback, Brothers
Tony Hunt, QLD, centre, Norths
Tate McDermott, QLD, scrumhalf, University of Queensland, Sunshine Coast
Hayden Sargeant, QLD, wing, Bond University, Gold Coast
Isaac Lucas, QLD, flyhalf, Sunnybank
Jordan Petaia, QLD, centre, Wests

Harrison Goddard, VIC, scrumhalf
Semisi Tupou, VIC, fullback

2019 Memberships