Super Rugby


Caslick voted People's Choice Australian Player of the Year

Olympic Gold Medallist Charlotte Caslick made history at the 2017 Volvo-RUPA Awards Lunch in Sydney yesterday, winning the People’s Choice Australian Player of the Year award.

For the first time, players from all senior national teams (Wallabies, Wallaroos, Australian Men’s and Women’s Sevens) were eligible and the public voted for their favourite player, Caslick.

“It’s a landmark day today as we celebrate Charlotte being chosen above all other Australian Rugby players as the fan’s favourite,” RUPA Chairman Bruce Hodgkinson SC said.

“This is the first year in which women’s players have been included in this award category, and it speaks volumes for the growth and popularity of women’s Rugby in Australia that both Charlotte and Sharni Williams have made the top three.”

Caslick finished ahead of runner up Israel Folau, to join previous winner Folau (2013), Matt Hodgson (2014), David Pocock (2015) and Michael Hooper (2016).

Fellow Sevens player James Stannard won his first Australian Rugby Sevens’ Playerss Player of the Year award.

Stannard played in all 10 HSBC World Series tournaments and produced one of his best seasons, tallying 247 points to bring his all-time total to 1042 points for Australia.

At 34 years-of-age, Stannard joined fellow Olympians Cameron Clark (2014-2015), Con Foley (2013), Lewis Holland (2016) and Jesse Parahi (2012) as recipients of the award.

Off the field, Stannard took the role of assistant coach of the Macquarie Uni Sydney Rays during the inaugural Aon Women’s Uni 7s Series.

Full list of award winners, 2017 Volvo-RUPA Awards Lunch

RUPA Medal for Excellence – Isi Naisarani
Newcomer of the Year – Marika Koribete
Taylors Wines People’s Choice Australian Player of the Year – Chartlotte Caslick OAM
Academic Achievement Award – James Dargaville
Community Service Award – Robbie Abel + Matt Sandell
Australian Men’s Rugby Sevens Players’ Player of the Year – James Stannard
Australian Women’s Rugby Sevens Players’ Player of the Year – Chloe Dalton OAM
National Rugby Championship (NRC) Players’ Player of the Year – Tom Cusack

2019 Memberships