Super Rugby


Eleven Queenslanders named in Australian U20s squad for Oceania Rugby U20s Championship

The BMW Australian U20s squad for the Oceania Rugby U20s Championship at Bond University on the Gold Coast has been named, featuring 11 players from the Queensland U20s side that won their second straight Super U20s Championship title earlier this month. 

Head Coach Simon Cron has selected a squad of 29, with one eye on the World Rugby U20s Championship in Georgia this June.

Players currently unavailable for selection due to Super Rugby or Australian Sevens commitments include Queenslanders Izaia Perese (St.George Queensland Reds) and Liam McNamara.  

Australia will be looking to win the Championship for the first time, having competed in in the tournament since 2015. In 2016, the Australian U20s defeated New Zealand in a thrilling match to level the series at 1-1; the first-time Australia had defeated New Zealand at U20s level.

BMW Australia U20s Head Coach, Simon Cron said: “We had a very short National Camp last week and have coached some of the basic areas we need to do well to be successful. As a squad we had a chance to work on some cohesiveness in our ball skills and talk about key fundamentals around which we will base our attack and defensive systems.”

“We’ll head into camp on the Gold Coast on Tuesday 25 April and we need to continue on from where we left off. We have to keep building on the boys rugby brains as well as the tactical and technical coaching.”

“There are some great boys in the group and I am looking forward to working with them more in detail over the coming weeks.”

The Australian Squad is subject to change depending on Super Rugby requirements leading into the tournament.  

2017 Oceania Rugby U20s Championship Fixtures: 
Round 1, Friday 28 April
New Zealand v Fiji, 5.00pm AEST
Australia v Samoa, 7.00pm AEST
Round 2, Tuesday 2 May
New Zealand v Samoa, 3.00pm AEST
Australia v Fiji, 5.00pm AEST
Round 3, Saturday 6 May
Samoa v Fiji, 5.00pm AEST
Australia v New Zealand, 7.00pm AEST

All matches will be played at Bond University’s Rugby Fields on the Gold Coast.

Harry Johnson-Holmes, NSW
Harry Chapman, NSW 
Vaauli Faamausili, Victoria
Dan Matthew, NSW 

Tom Horton, NSW 
Efi Maafu, Queensland (Wests) 

Harry Hockings, Queensland (University of Queensland, Bowen) 
Angus Blyth, Queensland (Bond University, Gold Coast) 

Ryan McCauley, NSW
Darcy Swain, ACT

Lachlan Swinton, NSW
Angus Scott-Young, Queensland (University of Queensland)
Reece Hewat, Queensland (Norths) 
Liam Wright, Queensland (Easts) 

Angus Allen, ACT

Harry Nucifora, Queensland (Bond University, Gold Coast) 
Ryan Lonergan, ACT
Theo Strang, NSW

Hamish Stewart, Queensland (Bond University, Toowoomba) 
Jack McGregor, Victoria 

Tony Hunt, Queensland (University of Queensland) 
Nick Jooste, ACT
Dylan Riley, Queensland (Bond University, Gold Coast) 
Len ikitau, ACT

James Ramm, NSW
Jayden Ngamanu, Queensland (Souths) 

Semisi Tupou, Victoria 
Jack Maddocks, NSW 

Join our Rugby Family today