Super Rugby


Ten Queenslanders named in Women’s Youth Commonwealth Games Wider Squad

Australia’s next generation of Rugby Sevens talent have begun their campaign ahead of the 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games to be held in the Bahamas from July 19-23.

The Australian side will be looking to defend their predecessors' Gold Medal from the tournament held in Samoa in 2015 that proved to be a springboard into the senior program for Queenslanders Dominique Du Toit and Demi Hayes.

Ten Queenslanders have been selected in the squad, and Queensland Academy of Sport Women’s Sevens Academy head coach Lachlan Parkinson has been selected as an assistant coach. 

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens Head Coach Tim Walsh said: “Previous Youth Games tournament graduates include Gold medallists Charlotte Caslick (QLD) and Evania Pelite (QLD), and half of the current squad progressed through this pathway.

"This is a great opportunity for aspiring young women to develop and enhance their abilities as Rugby Sevens players and push for selection in the Commonwealth Youth Games.

“To see the young talent coming through the Rugby Sevens pathway and with the Aon National University Sevens Series launching this year, this really is an inspiring time for Women’s Rugby Sevens players and supporters in Australia.

“We will be observing and challenging all the squad members in their upcoming training camps and want them to enjoy the experience of this wonderful game.”

The young Women's side was selected following National Youth Sevens Championship in December 2016, that was won by the Queensland Reds Girls. 

The wider squad will have three training camps, before a final squad of 12 will be selected to head to the Caribbean to represent Australia in July.

Australian Youth Commonwealth Games 2017 Wider Squad: 

Georgia Hannaway (State: QLD, DOB: 28/12/00)
Lily Dick (State: QLD, DOB: 26/12/99)
Alysia Lefau–Fakosilea (State: QLD, DOB: 5/11/00)
Meg Gemmell (State: QLD, DOB: 18/6/99)
Kobe Nona (State: QLD, DOB: 18/2/99)
Terri Anne Egan (State: QLD, DOB: 28/4/00)
Ngaupoko Sabine Marsters (State: QLD, DOB: 10/11/00)
Rebecca Goulding (State: QLD, DOB: 30/03/99)
Veteronnica Tafito (State: QLD, DOB: 10/02/00)

Hannah Southwell (State: NSW, DOB: 4/3/99)
Page McGregor (State: NSW, DOB: 11/3/99)
Brydie Parker (State: NSW, DOB: 25/10/99)
Abby Holmes (State: NSW, DOB: 14/10/00)
Arabella McKenzie (State: NSW, DOB: 1/03/99)
Rikeya Horne (State: NSW, DOB: 14/9/99)
Sariah Paki (State: NSW, DOB: 12/10/01)
Jakiya Whitfeld (State: NSW, DOB: 11/06/01)
Emma Bradford (State: NSW, DOB: 29/01/01)
Mia Woods (State: NSW, DOB: 16/02/99)
Layne Morgan (State: NSW, DOB: 20/04/99)
Maddison Ashby (State: NSW, DOB: 22/01/01)
Courtney Hodder (State: WA, DOB:08/07/00)
Kennedy Cherrington (State: WA, DOB: 05/01/99)
Turiti Galiki (State: WA, DOB: 06/01/00)
Langley  Sasaga (State: WA, DOB: 09/04/00)
Lily Rose-Bennett (State: ACT, DOB: 10/08/00)
Sophie Quirk (State: ACT, DOB: 22/09/99)
Piper Duck (State: ACT, DOB: 02/04/01)
Rhiannon Revell-Blair (National Indigenous Team/QLD, DOB: 23/03/01)
Latoniya Norris (State: NT, DOB: 18/03/01)
Leah Phillips (State: SA, DOB: 11/11/99)

Head Coach: Dale Roberson (Australian Sevens)
Assistant Coach: Lachlan Parkinson (Queensland Rugby Union)

Join our Rugby Family today